Home » Uncategorized » Michigan (MI) Teen Auto Insurance Laws, Rates & Requirements

Michigan (MI) Teen Auto Insurance Laws, Rates & Requirements

Teen and young adult drivers are involved in the largest number of fatal car crashes in the state of Michigan. There were 114,659 single vehicle car crashes involving 16-24 year olds in 2008 in the state. 23,654 of these crashes caused serious injuries and 289 resulted in death. Faced with figures that place the state of Michigan high on the list of states with disturbing teen accident statistics, Michigan developed a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system that is both rigorous and a model for other states. Under Michigan’s comprehensive Graduated Driver Licensing program, everyone is involved including instructors, parents, teens, and third-party testers. The success of Michigan’s GDL system also depends on enforcement of the laws. Michigan peace officers have a zero tolerance policy for teens that violate the laws of the state’s GDL system.

Continue reading to learn more about Michigan teen driver licensing and laws and the consequences for violating them.

Michigan Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) and Driver License Requirements

Michigan’s Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system consists of two segments (segments 1 and 2) and three licensing levels including Level 1 License, Level 2 License, and Level 3 License.

Segment 1
To begin Segment 1 driver education, teens must be 14 years and 8 months old and they must have permission from their parent or guardian. Segment 1 consists of the driver education course with a minimum of 24 hours of classroom instruction, 6 behind-the-wheel instruction, and a minimum of 4 hours of observation time as a passenger in training.

Level 1 License

This is a supervised learner’s license that must be held for at least 6 months from the date of issuance before applying for a Level 2 License

Segment 2
Teen must complete a minimum of 30 hours of supervised driving time, including a minimum of two hours night driving. He must also complete 6 hours of classroom instruction with a driver education provider who is certified to teach teens.

Level 2 License
To obtain a level two license, the teen must successfully complete all terms of Segment 1 and Level 1 Licensing. In addition, he must have completed a minimum of 50 hours of behind-the-wheel driving and maybe a legal webinar on other matters

Level 3 License
To obtain a Level 3 License, you must be 17 years of age and violation and suspension free. The teen cannot apply for a Level 3 license until he or she has held a Level 2 License for at least 6 months. The Level 3 License is automatically mailed to the teen, with parent or guardian approval at Level 2. There are no restrictions on the Level 3 License. The state of Michigan points out that parents may continue to place limits on their teen’s driving privileges.

To obtain a Level 1 Learner’s License you must:

•    Provide a Certificate of Completion for Segment 1
•    Provide a social security card
•    Proof of U.S. Citizenship
•    Proof of Identity
•    Proof of Michigan residency
•    Signature of parent or guardian on application
•    Pass a vision test

To obtain your Level 2 License you must:

•    Be at least 16 years old
•    Meet physical and medical licensing standard
•    Pass a driving skills test

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*
*