Home » Uncategorized » Michigan DUI Laws

Michigan DUI Laws

In the state of Michigan, driving while under the influence is called “operating while intoxicated or “OWI.” Under Michigan OWI law, penalties are severe and fines are high. Even for first offenses, you could end up serving jail time and/or community service; you could lose your license; you might have to install an interlock device at your own expense, and you may have to pay a fine, plus additional fees for up to 2 years. In addition to its OWI law, the state of Michigan also has what it calls an “Operating While Visibly Impaired” law or OWVI. Under Michigan’s OWVI law, you can end up paying fines or you could lose your license if you are visibly impaired from any amount of alcohol in your system or drugs – even prescription drugs.

What is the blood alcohol content level (BAC) limit in the state of Michigan?

In the state of Michigan, it is a crime to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content level (BAC) of 0.08% or higher. Sentence enhancements exist for cases involving a BAC of 0.15% or higher.

In the state of Michigan what is the administrative license suspension period for a first offense?

In the state of Michigan, if you get arrested for DUI, there is no administrative license suspension period. This means that if your driving privileges are suspended, you will not have the opportunity to have them restored after a set period of time.

In the state of Michigan, what are the penalties for a first DUI offense? Second offense?

In the state of Michigan, first time offenses carry a mandatory jail time up to 93 days, in addition to community service. You will be fined anywhere from $100-$500 and you may have to install an interlock device at your own expense. First offenders will be required to pay an additional $1,000 Driver Responsibility fee for a maximum of two years. Second offenders will spend anywhere from 5 days up to 12 months in jail, plus community service, and your license (and license plates) will be suspended for one year. Your vehicle will be either immobilized or forfeited for 3-6 months and you will have to pay additional $1,000 Driver Responsibility fee for a maximum of two years.

In the state of Michigan, a third offense is considered a felony. You will lose your license, your vehicle and even your freedom if you are convicted of a third offense under Michigan’s OWI law. You will spend anywhere from 1-5 years in jail, plus 2-6 months of community service, and your license and plates will be suspended for a minimum of 5 years. In addition to paying a $1,000 Driver Responsibility fee for 2 years, you will also forfeit your vehicle for 1-3 years and you will not be able to register your automobile or any other vehicle for a period of time to be determined by the courts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*
*